Trove Tuesday – I will pull your dirty nose

This is my first Trove Tuesday in quite a while so I thought I would try and make it a little bit off-centre. I have been doing some research into my HETHERINGTON  line and found an article about a distant cousin from that line who lived in the area I do now, although he was ‘active’ in the area in the first half of the twentieth century. It would appear that he was well-acquainted with the police and courts in Northern NSW and in this particular incident took umbrage with the local school teacher and threatened to “pull your dirty nose”. I wonder if that was a common insult at the time??

pull your dirty nose

1918 ‘LISMORE POLICE COURT. MONDAY, MARCH 11.’, Northern Star (Lismore, NSW : 1876 – 1954), 12 March, p. 2, viewed 12 November, 2013, http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article92933506

5 thoughts on “Trove Tuesday – I will pull your dirty nose

    • I guess things have changed a lot since then. No doubt that was quite an insult for the time – I don’t like to think about what teachers have to deal with these days!

Leave a Reply

