Where did that ditch come from?

On Sunday afternoon I took my two young children, 6 and 4, with me to the Bangalow Cemetery to take a photo of a headstone to use in a uni assignment. (That I am trying very hard to complete but seem to be making little progress on at the moment. *sigh*)

My small friends were very interested in where we were going and I had told them that we would also visit the graves of their great-grandmother’s (who is still alive and who they visit regularly) grandparents, James and Eliza Simmons, and place some flowers from our garden on their graves.

Unfortunately this did not eventuate because I managed to back my car into a ditch. How did I do that? I don’t actually know, other than I was backing down a hill and there was no post on the edge of the little road to show that there was a big ditch and rocks there. (I need to email the council about that). Anyway, you can see the result in the photo below.

Once I worked out the extent of the situation, and didn’t swear, I rang my husband, hoping the two of us would be able to get the car out. The look on his face when he saw the car cured me of that thought immediately. He definately thought we had no hope. Meanwhile the 4 year old was crying. I think he thought we were all going to be stuck in the cemetery forever, and it took quite a bit of coaxing to calm him down. So while the kids sat on a picnic rug in the sun in a cemetery, we tried to figure out how to move the car off the embankment without ripping the front of the car off! In the end we decided to call the NRMA, we really didn’t know what we were doing.

So hubby went home with the kids and I went to photograph the headstone that I had come looking for. (I also put the flowers on my great great grandparents’ graves. And after seeing them again on Sunday I have decided I need to go and do some cleaning up around them).

The headstone I photographed is of reputedly the first person buried in Bangalow, although not originally in the current cemetery, Marian Campbell. Her and her husband Robert were pioneer settlers in Bangalow in 1881, and after contributing a great deal to the community, Marian passed away at the age of 42. Her headstone is virtually impossible to read, but  her ancestors organised a plaque that explains her contribution to the establishment of Bangalow. I can only imagine what kinds of hardships and challenges she and other wives of settlers experienced as they forged new lives in remote places.

I also wondered if she was laughing just a little bit at me and my car….

I was very lucky. The NRMA lady arrived and within 10 minutes had me out and on my way home. She was very impressive, lugging big rocks around to place under the front of my car. I think I was extremely lucky that there was virtually no damage done to the car and that it didn’t have to be towed away.

Needless to say, I won’t be driving up that little road again.

7 thoughts on “Where did that ditch come from?

Leave a Reply

