Book review. “Meet the Pioneers: Early Families of the Milton/Ulladulla District”

I purchased “Meet the Pioneers: early families of the Milton/Ulladulla District with photographs” a few months ago after a recommendation from a newly discovered cousin.

Meet the Pioneers grew out of a local exhibition of pioneering families photographs that the author Joanne Ewin was organising. Joanne gathered such a unique collection of photographs and family stories from descendants of pioneer families that she decided to publish them so they could be shared.

The book has proven to be a valuable edition to my library because it contains numerous anecdotes and photographs of my SIMMONS  and TUCKERMAN families I haven’t seen before. It is also an extremely well-presented pictorial history of the pioneering families of the Milton/Ulladulla district. The quality of the paper, printing, cover and binding are very high, and although the cost of $35 plus postage might seem a little steep, I was very impressed when it arrived. It also has a lovely index that so far has proven to be very accurate. (I love indexes – is that a librarian or family historian ‘thing’? Maybe both.)

I would highly recommend this book to anyone with pioneering ancestors from the Milton/Ulladulla district.

If you would like the index checked for your ancestor’s name, please send me an email. I’d be happy to look for you.

4 thoughts on “Book review. “Meet the Pioneers: Early Families of the Milton/Ulladulla District”

  1. I have just been told about this book by email from Milton Ulladulla Family History society and that Knapp and Davis families were featured in it.
    I am wondering if Faulks and Morschel families are in there also ?
    Janice Fitton

  2. Hi, I have recently discovered my gggfather, John Walter Vick came to Ulladulla in 1864 with his wife Margaret and ggfather Robert Edward Vick. Robert married Elizabeth Duff and their son (also Robert Edward Vick) was my g’father, who died in Calcutta in 1923. The Bellgen Web site state he died in NSW in 1941. Are the Vicks included in your book and do you know who I can contact re correcting details re my ggfather? Pam Moore

Leave a Reply

