Trove Tuesday – Just what I have been looking for

A little while ago, it may have been around this time last year, Trove popped a digitised newspaper up that I had been waiting for, The Northern Star. It covers the area in which most of my father’s great grandparents established themselves, near Lismore in Northern NSW. Coincidentally I now live smack bang in the middle of where they all lived and drive past their old farms on my way to work. Almost as if I always lived here.

Anyway, where was I? Two days ago Trove loaded further articles from The Northern Star and I was very excited because I have been looking for a death or obituary notice for my 2xgreat grandfather George PEARSON. I have been very lucky to have access to the microfilm to the Northern Star where I work and have been successful in finding many notices and articles for my ancestors, but for some reason I have never found George as I scrolled through the microfilm – thank goodness for digitisation!! (I really don’t know how I missed it and am going to pull out the microfilm to see exactly where it is so I know what I did wrong – sometimes things just aren’t where you expect them to be).

Until 2 days ago I knew quite a lot about George as far as where he was born, married, died, how many children he had, where he lived, and that he was one of the first directors on the board of NORCO, however, I knew nothing of the type of man he is. His obituary has helped me gain a clearer picture of who he was.

OBITUARY. (1918, April 26). Northern Star (Lismore, NSW : 1876 – 1954), p. 3. Retrieved November 26, 2012, from http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article92917594

OBITUARY. (1918, April 26). Northern Star (Lismore, NSW : 1876 – 1954), p. 3. Retrieved November 26, 2012, from http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article92917594

Many thanks Trove.

Leave a Reply

