Trove Tuesday – The sticking up of the Goulburn Mail and a bushranger shot

I’m a little late this week for my Trove Tuesday post, seeing as it is now Wednesday, but here goes anyway.

I came across a story in some information my mother gave me recently about her GOODHEW ancestors. The story goes that my 3xgreat grandfather Henry GOODHEW (1830-1916) was a passenger on the Goulburn mail coach on the night of Tuesday, 25 May 1869 when it was held up by two bushrangers. It was such an exciting story I had to do a search and quickly found an article about the holdup on Trove.

STICKING UP OF THE GOULBURN MAIL—A PASSENGER AND A BUSHRANGER SHOT. (1869, May 31). Empire (Sydney, NSW : 1850 – 1875), p. 3. Retrieved October 24, 2012, from http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article60835098

Unfortunately, although details in the article, such as date and where it was going, match with the personal account I have a copy of, the article does not mention Henry specifically, so I still do not know if he was actually on that mail coach or not. Seems I have a little more digging to do.

4 thoughts on “Trove Tuesday – The sticking up of the Goulburn Mail and a bushranger shot

Leave a Reply

