Trove Tuesday – a quick one

I missed last week’s so am going to pop a quick one up now. I missed Trove whilst it was down these past couple of days. Good to see you again.

I’ve recently been doing a heritage conservation assignment (that is another story) and for my topic I choose the Cape Byron Lighthouse. Apart from being an extremely scenic place it also has a fascinating history that involves Indigenous people, shipwrecks, pioneers settlers, whaling and stories of the families of the lighthouse keepers.

I found a huge amount of useful information on Trove to complement what I discovered at my local historical society in Lismore. One of my favourite articles about the lighthouse tells the story of its opening. The town was eagerly anticipating this huge event, and when the official guests were unable to make it on the night due to wild weather, (they had to stay on their ship in the bay instead), the townsfolk got stuck into the food and beverages and had a wonderful time nonetheless – probably more so!

Image

http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article72080223

The Cape Byron Lighthouse. (1901, December 4). Northern Star (Lismore, NSW : 1876 – 1954), p. 4. Retrieved September 18, 2012, from http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article72080223

 

Leave a Reply

